Artworks for Youth

New York, New York 10113


Latest Updates

@Artworks for Youth 2017-08-27

We paired artists with ArtWorks for Youth students over a two-month period to collaborate on a piece of art. We are now auctioning the works off. The work has been up for view since Saturday and can be prieviewed during gallery hours Monday - Wednesday. The closing and end of the line auction will be Wednesday, 30 August from 6:00 - 8:00. If you are interested in a work but are unable to attend the closing, enquire about our absentee bidding option.

@Artworks for Youth 2017-08-07

You do not want to miss viewing and/or bidding on the works that were made in collaboration between PE artists and ArtWorks for Youth students over the past two months. Opening: Saturday, 26 August from 10:30 - 12:30. Auction and Closing: Wednesday, 30 August from 18:00 - 20:00.

@Artworks for Youth 2017-08-07

Please do yourself a favor and do not miss viewing (or bidding on) these works, which are part one a very important project of ArtWorks for Youth. Opening: Saturday, 26 August Auction and Closing: Wednesday, 30 August

@Artworks for Youth 2017-08-07

For two months, we paired artists with ArtWorks for Youth students so that both sides could learn from one another. Each pairing collaborated on a work that we will display and auction off. The opening will be on Saturday, 26 August from 10:30-12:30. Works can be viewed up until Wednesday, 30 August from 18:00 -20:00. (Absentee bidding is also possible.)

@Artworks for Youth 2017-08-03

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10213068380560039.1073742073.1108980279&type=1&l=130e83e253

@Artworks for Youth 2017-06-28

Today's 50 Campaign features Thulethu, who has been with ArtWorks for Youth for five years now. She works so hard to achieve and is bound for even more greatness. R50 can buy you half a dinner in Richmond Hill, or part of our new building! Choose wisely.

@Artworks for Youth 2017-04-24

We are in the midst of our online campaign that is coinciding with our big fundraiser / art auction this Thursday. Please come! http://siyakha-we-are-building-59982.causevox.com/

@Artworks for Youth 2017-04-15

ArtWorks for Youth is turning 15 and we are growing. We need your support now more than ever, so please join us for a fundraiser / art exhibit: Siyakha!(We are Building!) Thursday, April 27 * 7:00 – 9:00 p.m. Brooklyn Heights Montessori School 185 Court Street Suggested Donation: $50 See how art transforms lives and how our Joe Slovo Township students express themselves through sculpture, painting, drawing, photography and collage. Hear about our exciting building plans. Participate in our art auction, and book donation. Cocktails will be served.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-12-20

Check out our short film that documents our mock funeral for the Eastern Cape Department of Education. https://youtu.be/TuqizDvUydo

@Artworks for Youth 2016-11-26

The Eastern Cape Department of Education is the worst in the country. Students are failing for no fault of their own. The Dept. will not do so much as entertain my student's complaints. They are learning on their own, with little support at their schools. We will together mourn the death of the EC DOE, and consider alternate ways to learn. Support my many students as they explain how this death affects them, as well as how their education will continue regardless.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-09-20

The ArtWorks for Youth Club at Packer Collegiate Institute is hosting a 12-hour dance-a-thon to raise funds for us! Check it out and give what you can, please.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-08-11

A few weeks ago, we began studying the work of Aminah Brenda Lynn Robinson, an incredible painter and fabric artist. These are the very beginnings of what will be a large accordion fabric book that tells of my students' struggles at school. Thread, beads, buttons, and other items will be added. My students began articulating and visually illustrating the abysmal treatment in their schools with our procession three years ago called "Abameli Bemfundo." It's been an ongoing focus ever since. Stay tuned for more.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-06-15

Hello All: We have extended this campaign by two weeks, as we are trying to match all gifts between $5 and $10. Got $5? https://www.youcaring.com/artworks-for-youth-575975

@Artworks for Youth 2016-06-10

Hello, Friends of ArtWorks for Youth. There are just four more days left to our online campaign, which coincides with our two week spring fundraising season. We have been offered a small grant to match all gift amounts from $5 to $10 from now until the time our campaign ends on Monday. That means your $5 magically turns into $10. Whattaya say, people? https://www.youcaring.com/artworks-for-youth-575975

@Artworks for Youth 2016-05-31

We are in day 5 of our online campaign to raise $10,000. We have raised $1,945 so far. Today's reason to give is Samkelo Tetyana, who has found three passions this year at ArtWorks for Youth and is excelling at each of them: running, sandal making, and bead-making. He is one of our many stars and reasons that we exist. Please support our work.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-05-26

Please consider a donation during our online campaign that coincides with our annual exhibition and art auction. We want a sweet start to our new program year, which begins in January. All amounts extremely welcome. We are also seeking flier miles to get some amazing artists to work with our students in PE.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-05-09

What will be different about this event of ours? You will step into the lives of our students by not only viewing artwork they create, but reading their stories, poems, and stepping into their lives. You will not want to miss this, my peeps.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-04-27

This is our Annual Art Exhibition and Art Auction! View student art and academic projects, take part in our art auction, and support some future leaders.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-02-15

March - May are going to be busy, busy months, friends of ArtWorks for Youth. We will accept 24 volunteers, do at least three story exchanges, host local visiting artists, launch our student blog, and literary magazine! Don't sleep, babies!

@Artworks for Youth 2016-02-10

Check out this paper bead workshop in Brooklyn, NY and act fast, as space is limited.

@Artworks for Youth 2015-12-31

Hello ArtWorks for Youth Friends: Please consider a year-end donation so that our important work can continue into 2016 and beyond. Happy New Year!

@Artworks for Youth 2015-12-29

I just added another reader to our First Annual Read-a-Thon. This is the first time we have involved our students directly in raising funds for our library and Acacemic Support Program. Please click on the photos to see which students do not yet have sponsor. Let me know if you want to sponsor a student per book or a flat rate in support of our young readers and future leaders. Thanks!

@Artworks for Youth 2015-12-21

2015 is quickly drawing to a close. Perhaps this holiday season has you feeling that you'd like to wrap up the year by giving a gift. We have a few options for you. 1.) Support one of our students participating in the Read-a-Thon during the summer break (which is now until January 12.) Just read the brief text next to each photo to see what our students are reading and how many sponsors they have so far. Inbox me to let me know how many you would like to support and how much you will pledge per book. 2.) Purchase a book or school supply from our Amazon wish list at: http://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/J14V2WUF2TU0/ref=cm_sw_em_r_wsg_UpgEwb11V3J3M_wb 3.) A friend has pledged to match all donations up to $2,500 that will support the ArtWorks for Youth running club. So far we have raised about $500. 4.) Simply give a gift online via Just Give: https://www.justgive.org/basket?acton=donate&ein=04-3688365&authorized_request_token=82EE0D69-466C-961B-0BB1-79335F13E565 5.) If you're a friend of mine from Port Elizabeth, we could use food donations or gift cards from any grocery store. We have several families in crucial need of food for this holiday season. Please be in touch via my inbox if you are able to help. Thanks so much for your support. You are investing in an amazing group of young warriors and we truly appreciate it.

@Artworks for Youth 2015-12-08

I just added another reader to our First Annual Read-a-Thon. This is the first time we have involved our students directly in raising funds for our library and Acacemic Support Program. Please click on the photos to see which students do not yet have sponsor. Let me know if you want to sponsor a student per book or a flat rate in support of our young readers and future leaders. Thanks!


See more learning institutes near New York

About

Founded by John Lombardo, the mission of Artworks for Youth is to provide free after school visual art instruction, mentoring, and academic support to under-served students in South Africa.

Description

ArtWorks for Youth offers free visual art instruction, academic support, and mentoring to under served students in Port Elizabeth, South Africa.

Company Overview

Our work began in New York City in May, 2000 and we have since worked with thousands of students through collaborations with schools and service organizations in New York City and South Africa.

We learned of a school in South Africa through a collaboration with Frederick Douglass Academy II in Harlem. Our first trip to Africa was in March, 2003. We began traveling to South Africa three times annually.

ArtWorks for Youth now works exclusively in South Africa. We are currently working in two schools: Sivuyiseni Intermediate, and Joe Slovo Primary, both in Port Elizabeth. We expanded to a year-round program in October 2009. We work with over 1,000 students a year.

Mission

The mission of Artworks for Youth is to provide free after school visual art instruction, mentoring, and academic support to under-served students in
South Africa.

Founded

Artworks for Youth was founded in 2000

Parking

Lot Parking No
Street Parking No
Valet Parking No

Suggestions

Success Academy Charter Schools

95 Pine Street
Education

Foundation Center

32 Old Slip
Nonprofit Organization, Organization, Library

Brooklyn Historical Society

128 Pierrepont St
Library, Museum, Historical Place

Lambda Chi Alpha at NYU

36 Sidney Pl
Sorority & Fraternity, School, Organization

Greico Financial Training Institute

44 Wall St, 12th Floor
Financial Service, School, Company

Pace School of Performing Arts

140 William St
College & University, Performing Arts School

Coro New York Leadership Center

42 Broadway
Nonprofit Organization, Educational Consultant, Social Service

Professional Staff Congress/CUNY

61 Broadway
College & University, Organization

Square Circle New York MuayThai-BJJ

139 Fulton St Rm 133
Personal Trainer, Martial Arts School

Pace University Bookstore - NYC

41 Park Row
Bookstore, College & University, College & University

Chatham Square Library, NYPL

33 E Broadway
Library

Mission Martial Arts Academy

517 Henry St
Martial Arts School, Education

Thaicore


Martial Arts School

Ken-Zen Institute

54 Thomas St
Martial Arts School, Education

Brooklyn Martial Arts

289 Livingston St, 2nd & 3rd Floors
Martial Arts School, Sports & Fitness Instruction, Gym/Physical Fitness Center

Anderson's Martial Arts Academy

412 Broadway
Gym/Physical Fitness Center, Martial Arts School, Education

ChinesePod

246 W Broadway
Education

Urban Fitness Boutique

38 Delancey St
Personal Trainer, Gym/Physical Fitness Center, Martial Arts School

TriBeCa Community School

22 Ericsson Pl
School, Organization

Brooklyn Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

412 Myrtle Ave
Martial Arts School, Gym/Physical Fitness Center

Beyond Martial Arts

242 East 2nd Street
Martial Arts School, Gym/Physical Fitness Center

Brooklyn Aikikai

408 3rd Ave
Martial Arts School, Nonprofit Organization

Pratt Office of International Affairs

200 Willoughby Ave
College & University, College & University

Disciples of Sanuces - VSK


Martial Arts School, Church, Medical Company

Brooklyn Metal Works

640 Dean St
Art School, Art Gallery

Tompkins Square Library

331 E 10th St
Library

Capoeira Brooklyn

316 7th St, Fl 2nd
Gym/Physical Fitness Center, Martial Arts School

Victorian Society New York

232 E 11th St
Museum, Education, Historical Place

RamadanReminders.Org

69 Montgomery St
Education

CourseHorse

57 E 11th St, Fl 8th
Education

ParkSlope United Taekwondo

502 5th Ave
Martial Arts School, Sports & Fitness Instruction, Gym/Physical Fitness Center

Choe's Hapkido Karate Academy of NYC

Corner of 10th St & 6th Ave
Martial Arts School, Gym/Physical Fitness Center

Mannes School of Music

55 W 13th St
Performing Arts School, College & University, Music Lessons & Instruction School

ACAT (American Center for the Alexander Technique)

39 W 14th St Ste 507
Nonprofit Organization, School

Yeshiva University Museum

15 W 16th St
Museum, Travel & Transportation, College & University

Moodohe USA Martial Arts Studio

893 Bergen St
Martial Arts School

The Buckminster Fuller Institute

181 N 11th St Apt 402
Nonprofit Organization, Environmental Conservation Organization, Education


Privacy Policy