Artworks for Youth

New York, New York 10113


Latest Updates

@Artworks for Youth 2017-08-27

We paired artists with ArtWorks for Youth students over a two-month period to collaborate on a piece of art. We are now auctioning the works off. The work has been up for view since Saturday and can be prieviewed during gallery hours Monday - Wednesday. The closing and end of the line auction will be Wednesday, 30 August from 6:00 - 8:00. If you are interested in a work but are unable to attend the closing, enquire about our absentee bidding option.

@Artworks for Youth 2017-08-07

You do not want to miss viewing and/or bidding on the works that were made in collaboration between PE artists and ArtWorks for Youth students over the past two months. Opening: Saturday, 26 August from 10:30 - 12:30. Auction and Closing: Wednesday, 30 August from 18:00 - 20:00.

@Artworks for Youth 2017-08-07

Please do yourself a favor and do not miss viewing (or bidding on) these works, which are part one a very important project of ArtWorks for Youth. Opening: Saturday, 26 August Auction and Closing: Wednesday, 30 August

@Artworks for Youth 2017-08-07

For two months, we paired artists with ArtWorks for Youth students so that both sides could learn from one another. Each pairing collaborated on a work that we will display and auction off. The opening will be on Saturday, 26 August from 10:30-12:30. Works can be viewed up until Wednesday, 30 August from 18:00 -20:00. (Absentee bidding is also possible.)

@Artworks for Youth 2017-08-03

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10213068380560039.1073742073.1108980279&type=1&l=130e83e253

@Artworks for Youth 2017-06-28

Today s 50 Campaign features Thulethu, who has been with ArtWorks for Youth for five years now. She works so hard to achieve and is bound for even more greatness. R50 can buy you half a dinner in Richmond Hill, or part of our new building! Choose wisely.

@Artworks for Youth 2017-04-24

We are in the midst of our online campaign that is coinciding with our big fundraiser / art auction this Thursday. Please come! http://siyakha-we-are-building-59982.causevox.com/

@Artworks for Youth 2017-04-15

ArtWorks for Youth is turning 15 and we are growing. We need your support now more than ever, so please join us for a fundraiser / art exhibit: Siyakha!(We are Building!) Thursday, April 27 * 7:00 – 9:00 p.m. Brooklyn Heights Montessori School 185 Court Street Suggested Donation: $50 See how art transforms lives and how our Joe Slovo Township students express themselves through sculpture, painting, drawing, photography and collage. Hear about our exciting building plans. Participate in our art auction, and book donation. Cocktails will be served.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-12-20

Check out our short film that documents our mock funeral for the Eastern Cape Department of Education. https://youtu.be/TuqizDvUydo

@Artworks for Youth 2016-11-26

The Eastern Cape Department of Education is the worst in the country. Students are failing for no fault of their own. The Dept. will not do so much as entertain my student s complaints. They are learning on their own, with little support at their schools. We will together mourn the death of the EC DOE, and consider alternate ways to learn. Support my many students as they explain how this death affects them, as well as how their education will continue regardless.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-09-20

The ArtWorks for Youth Club at Packer Collegiate Institute is hosting a 12-hour dance-a-thon to raise funds for us! Check it out and give what you can, please.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-08-11

A few weeks ago, we began studying the work of Aminah Brenda Lynn Robinson, an incredible painter and fabric artist. These are the very beginnings of what will be a large accordion fabric book that tells of my students struggles at school. Thread, beads, buttons, and other items will be added. My students began articulating and visually illustrating the abysmal treatment in their schools with our procession three years ago callmeli Bemfun s been an ongoing focus ever since. Stay tuned for more.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-06-15

Hello All: We have extended this campaign by two weeks, as we are trying to match all gifts between $5 and $10. Got $5? https://www.youcaring.com/artworks-for-youth-575975

@Artworks for Youth 2016-06-10

Hello, Friends of ArtWorks for Youth. There are just four more days left to our online campaign, which coincides with our two week spring fundraising season. We have been offered a small grant to match all gift amounts from $5 to $10 from now until the time our campaign ends on Monday. That means your $5 magically turns into $10. Whattaya say, people? https://www.youcaring.com/artworks-for-youth-575975

@Artworks for Youth 2016-05-31

We are in day 5 of our online campaign to raise $10,000. We have raised $1,945 so far. Today s reason to give is Samkelo Tetyana, who has found three passions this year at ArtWorks for Youth and is excelling at each of them: running, sandal making, and bead-making. He is one of our many stars and reasons that we exist. Please support our work.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-05-26

Please consider a donation during our online campaign that coincides with our annual exhibition and art auction. We want a sweet start to our new program year, which begins in January. All amounts extremely welcome. We are also seeking flier miles to get some amazing artists to work with our students in PE.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-05-09

What will be different about this event of ours? You will step into the lives of our students by not only viewing artwork they create, but reading their stories, poems, and stepping into their lives. You will not want to miss this, my peeps.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-04-27

This is our Annual Art Exhibition and Art Auction! View student art and academic projects, take part in our art auction, and support some future leaders.

@Artworks for Youth 2016-02-15

March - May are going to be busy, busy months, friends of ArtWorks for Youth. We will accept 24 volunteers, do at least three story exchanges, host local visiting artists, launch our student blog, and literary magazine! Don t sleep, babies!

@Artworks for Youth 2016-02-10

Check out this paper bead workshop in Brooklyn, NY and act fast, as space is limited.

@Artworks for Youth 2015-12-31

Hello ArtWorks for Youth Friends: Please consider a year-end donation so that our important work can continue into 2016 and beyond. Happy New Year!

@Artworks for Youth 2015-12-29

I just added another reader to our First Annual Read-a-Thon. This is the first time we have involved our students directly in raising funds for our library and Acacemic Support Program. Please click on the photos to see which students do not yet have sponsor. Let me know if you want to sponsor a student per book or a flat rate in support of our young readers and future leaders. Thanks!

@Artworks for Youth 2015-12-21

2015 is quickly drawing to a close. Perhaps this holiday season has you feeling that you d like to wrap up the year by giving a gift. We have a few options for you. 1.) Support one of our students participating in the Read-a-Thon during the summer break (which is now until January 12.) Just read the brief text next to each photo to see what our students are reading and how many sponsors they have so far. Inbox me to let me know how many you would like to support and how much you will pledge per book. 2.) Purchase a book or school supply from our Amazon wish list at: http://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/J14V2WUF2TU0/ref=cm_sw_em_r_wsg_UpgEwb11V3J3M_wb 3.) A friend has pledged to match all donations up to $2,500 that will support the ArtWorks for Youth running club. So far we have raised about $500. 4.) Simply give a gift online via Just Give: https://www.justgive.org/basket?acton=donate&ein=04-3688365&authorized_request_token=82EE0D69-466C-961B-0BB1-79335F13E565 5.) If you re a friend of mine from Port Elizabeth, we could use food donations or gift cards from any grocery store. We have several families in crucial need of food for this holiday season. Please be in touch via my inbox if you are able to help. Thanks so much for your support. You are investing in an amazing group of young warriors and we truly appreciate it.

@Artworks for Youth 2015-12-08

I just added another reader to our First Annual Read-a-Thon. This is the first time we have involved our students directly in raising funds for our library and Acacemic Support Program. Please click on the photos to see which students do not yet have sponsor. Let me know if you want to sponsor a student per book or a flat rate in support of our young readers and future leaders. Thanks!


See more learning institutes near New York

About

Founded by John Lombardo, the mission of Artworks for Youth is to provide free after school visual art instruction, mentoring, and academic support to under-served students in South Africa.

Description

ArtWorks for Youth offers free visual art instruction, academic support, and mentoring to under served students in Port Elizabeth, South Africa.

Company Overview

Our work began in New York City in May, 2000 and we have since worked with thousands of students through collaborations with schools and service organizations in New York City and South Africa. We learned of a school in South Africa through a collaboration with Frederick Douglass Academy II in Harlem. Our first trip to Africa was in March, 2003. We began traveling to South Africa three times annually. ArtWorks for Youth now works exclusively in South Africa. We are currently working in two schools: Sivuyiseni Intermediate, and Joe Slovo Primary, both in Port Elizabeth. We expanded to a year-round program in October 2009. We work with over 1,000 students a year.

Mission

The mission of Artworks for Youth is to provide free after school visual art instruction, mentoring, and academic support to under-served students in South Africa.

Founded

Artworks for Youth was founded in 2000

Parking

Lot Parking No
Street Parking No
Valet Parking No

Suggestions

The Golandsky Institute

Park West Finance Station PO Box 20726, New York, New York 10025
Music Lessons & Instruction School, Professional Service

Montessori School of Manhattan

2 Gold Street, New York, New York 10013
Preschool, In-Home Service

ChinesePod

246 W Broadway, New York, New York 10013
Education

Dance New Amsterdam

280 Broadway Fl 1, New York, New York 10007
Dance Studio, Nonprofit Organization

The Art & Law Program: Since 2010

26 Broadway, New York, New York 10004
Art School, Lawyer & Law Firm, Professional Service

Taste of Tribeca

Duane Street, New York, New York 10013
School Fundraiser, New American Restaurant

Thaicore

New York, New York 10009
Martial Arts School

Ken-Zen Institute

54 Thomas St, New York, New York 10013
Martial Arts School, Education

Practice Makes Perfect

New York, New York 10004
Education, Region

Mildred Elley - NYC Campus

25 Broadway, Fl 16, New York, New York 10004
College & University, School, College & University

Pace School of Performing Arts

140 William St, New York, New York 10038
College & University, Performing Arts School

Dancing Divas and Dudes

207 E 84th St Ste 207, New York, New York 10075
Dance School


Privacy Policy