826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company

372 5th Ave, Brooklyn, New York 11215

Latest Updates

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-21

"I learned how to use stronger words to get my readers' attention. The most memorable moment of this experience was when I was writing my second story, that was very emotional to me." -Ashley, 8th grade This winter, a donation to 826NYC can inspire the next generation of New York City authors. Donate today: http://ow.ly/NyVl30h0BlP

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-20

Chelsea, a student from our Park Slope After-School Tutoring & Writing program, sends thanks through a poem. What are you thankful for?

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-19

Last year, your donation to 826NYC supported 279 tutoring sessions, 214 students through workshops, 2,951 students through field trips, and 725 students through in-schools projects. This winter, donate to 826NYC to support over 4,000 New York City students in becoming published authors. http://ow.ly/vDEW30h0DNd

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-19

Our young authors celebrated their recent publication, "People Have Feelings as Soft as Feathers," which includes ideas on how to combat bullying. Thanks Cartoon Network for helping our students take the pledge to #stopbullying and stand up for one another.

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-18

Thank you to January Digital for joining us for an awesome Choose Your Own Adventure bookmaking field trip in the secret library!

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-15

Last month, 826NYC students took the pledge to stand up to bullying and agreed to be kind, get involved, tell an adult, and remember that bullying is not their fault. We are excited for our party on Monday celebrating the release of our new chapbook! Cartoon Network #wespeakup

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-14

"A student I had as a 10th grader returned as a senior and totally unprompted said about Bright Blue Sky and Gray Silence, 'Ms., that book we made is life. I still think about it all the time.'" Rebecca Eisenberg, educator at the High School for Fashion Industries Foster the next generation of creative writers and thinkers, donate to 826NYC today! http://ow.ly/4JdJ30h0D2U

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-12

Each year, chapbooks are published and our new authors give readings for their peers, teachers, and families because when we celebrate student work, we increase student confidence. Throughout the year, books will be made in Chelsea, Concourse Village, and Clinton Hill to name just a few of the neighborhoods where you'll be able to find 826NYC authors. Donate today to help publish this year's stories: http://ow.ly/SZk130h0Fpi

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-11

In need of a refill on antimatter or whimsy? This holiday season stop by the superhero supply store to pick up superpowers for the whole family in form of a pint glass ( http://ow.ly/P5iI30h9FZE ) or one of our ornaments ( http://ow.ly/nw0R30h9G2v ) !

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-11

Come check out the writing, comedy and music of Lorena Russi, Kimberly Oser, Tuck Gaisford, Wyatt Bertz & Danielle Sinay at Pete's Candy Store tonight! Entry is free.

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-07

Now you can take your superpowers by the pint! Styled after the iconic BSSCo. line of superpowers, this holiday season your family can sip antimatter, chutzpah, inspiration, or omnipotence by the fireplace. http://ow.ly/yHhB30h4Oys

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-06

Gio, a student at our Park Slope center, reads her poem "An Ode to Eggs"

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-06

"When I saw my story in the book, it made me feel like a little author that's gonna get better and probably become a better one" Alexa, 6th grade Help 826NYC publish the work of over 4,000 students this year! Donate today: http://ow.ly/twtp30h0CBE

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-05

As part of 826NYC's partnership, students from the High School of Fashion Industries visited the Yayoi Kusama Festival of Life exhibition at the David Zwirner gallery. The pieces they write about their experiences will be submitted for a summer internship with David Zwirner Books

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-04

Come check out the writing, comedy and music of Lorena Russi, Kimberly Oser, Tuck Gaisford, Wyatt Bertz & Danielle Sinay at Pete's Candy Store on December 11th. Entry is free!

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-04

826NYC is pleased to announce that the winner of this year’s William Peter Blatty Award for outstanding writing by a young author is Moussa F., age 13, for “Abou’s Wild Adventure” Read the award winning story here: http://ow.ly/JVzs30gHQGN

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-12-01

"826NYC is one of the few places in this city that can change the status quo of learning through a carefully crafted combination of enthusiasm, community, and superhero capes." - Alli Lee, 826NYC volunteer. The season of giving is upon us. Please consider donating to 826NYC this winter! http://ow.ly/NTYW30gWPKL

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-11-30

826NYC students took the pledge to stand up to bullying. They shared stories of times they've witnessed or experienced bullying, and agreed to be kind, get involved, tell an adult, and remember that bullying is not their fault. #wespeakup Cartoon Network

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-11-29

Nana, Henry, and Gio all participated in 826NYC's "Code Your Story" worksop series this fall, creating original stories and animating them on Scratch. Stay tuned to learn more about what they do in the upcoming circuitry workshops using littleBits!

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-11-29

Thank you to everyone who supported 826NYC this past Giving Tuesday. With the help of supporters, we were able to raise to raise over $13,000 for 826NYC’s programs! For those of you who missed out, it is not too late! Donate today at http://ow.ly/cptg30gSorI

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-11-28

We are one third of the way to our #GivingTuesday goal! Help us reach 100% by spreading the news about the important and impactful work 826NYC does and our #GivingTuesday campaign. http://ow.ly/cptg30gSorI

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-11-28

We've almost made it to 1/3 of our $30,000 goal for #GivingTuesday! Help our students write their own paths forward with a donation today! http://ow.ly/xpJH30gSfMj

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-11-28

Help us reach our $30,000 goal to support the creative voices of New York City’s students, like Nathalie, with a donation to 826NYC today, #GivingTuesday Donate here: http://ow.ly/cLmK30gQxFR An excerpt from "The Sloth Who Was Desperate To Get Home" by Nathalie G. P., age 8, from The 826NYC Review No. 8: “Sammy felt lost and scared with all the trees around him. The jungle was dark, so the trees looked different and more haunting than in the daylight. ‘Well, I’ll just go that way.’ About two hours later, he was only about nine feet from where he started. ‘Ugh, this is taking forever. I feel like I’ve been travelling for ages!’ Feeling even more miserable than before, Sammy decided to stop. ‘I’m going to stop and sleep…’”

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-11-27

11/28 is #GivingTuesday! Help us publish the work of students like Chelsea http://ow.ly/Y3Ci30gQyXW Excerpt from The Sky In Her Eyes by Chelsea, age 13, featured in I Am From The Moon: “The blue sky brushed against Her eyes As the world swirled in my mind And suddenly stopped”

@826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company 2017-11-21

Thank you to Bliss Without Bother in supporting 826NYC with their bonus raffle at Bliss Bazaar


See more learning institutes near Brooklyn

About

826NYC is a nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting students ages 6 to 18 with their creative and expository writing skills.

Description

Interested in signing up a student for a workshop? Or, joining the ranks of our super volunteer corps? Visit our website! http://www.826nyc.org

General Info

Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@826NYC)!

Mission

826NYC is a nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting students ages 6-18 with their creative and expository writing skills, and to helping teachers inspire their students to write. All of our free programs are challenging and enjoyable, and ultimately strengthen each student's power to express ideas effectively, creatively, confidently, and in his or her individual voice.

Price Range

$ (0-10)

Founded

826NYC and the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Company was founded in 2004

Products

Capes, grappling hooks, general superhero supplies, homework help, writing workshops, field trips, and birthday parties!

Parking

Lot Parking No
Street Parking No
Valet Parking No

Operating Hours

mon11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
tue11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
wed11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
thu11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
fri11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
sat11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
sun11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Suggestions

Lambda Chi Alpha at NYU

36 Sidney Pl
Sorority & Fraternity, School, Organization

RamadanReminders.Org

69 Montgomery St
Education

Greico Financial Training Institute

44 Wall St, 12th Floor
Financial Service, School, Company

Success Academy Charter Schools

95 Pine Street
Education

Typeverything


Education, Arts & Entertainment

Beam Center

60 Sackett St
Nonprofit Organization, Art School, Trade School

N.Y.U. Law Review

110 W 3rd St
College & University, School

Pratt Photography

200 Willoughby Ave
Photographer, School

Trapeze School New York (TSNY) NYC

353 West St
Gym/Physical Fitness Center, Specialty School, Performance & Event Venue

Anderson's Martial Arts Academy

412 Broadway
Gym/Physical Fitness Center, Martial Arts School, Education

Make Workshop

256 3rd Avenue
Arts & Crafts Store, Education, Sewing & Alterations

St. Joseph's College NY

245 Clinton Ave
College & University, Education

Columbia University Neuroscience Outreach

Columbia University
Education, Charity Organization

Adafruit Industries

150 Varick St
Education, Educational Supply Store, Electronics Store

Aleso3D

4 Harrison St
Interior Design Studio, Specialty School

SALESmanago

85 Broad St.
Software, Education, Internet Service Provider

NYU Tandon School of Engineering

6 Metrotech Ctr
College & University, School, Nonprofit Organization

Transcendental Meditation

26 Beaver St
Nonprofit Organization, Education

Blue Steel Driving School

397 Bridge St 2nd Floor
Automotive, Aircraft & Boat, School, Driving School

NYU Precollege

665 Broadway, 11th Floor
Campus Building, College & University, Organization

Brooklyn Music Factory

600 Degraw St.
Music Lessons & Instruction School, Music Production Studio, School

LIU Brooklyn Counseling Program

9 Hanover Pl, Fl 4th
Mental Health Service, School

TIGI Academy NYC

466 Broome St
Hair Salon, School

HelperStudy

Grand-Street
Automotive, Aircraft & Boat, Religious Center, Tutor/Teacher

Fondation Beogo

68 Montague St
Nonprofit Organization, Education

Artworks for Youth


Nonprofit Organization, Education, Region

TriBeCa Community School

22 Ericsson Pl
School, Organization

Coro New York Leadership Center

42 Broadway
Nonprofit Organization, Educational Consultant, Social Service

ChinesePod

246 W Broadway
Education

Ken-Zen Institute

54 Thomas St
Martial Arts School, Education

Brooklyn Metal Works

640 Dean St
Art School, Art Gallery

Projects Abroad

80 Broad St
Education, Charity Organization, Organization

Victorian Society New York

232 E 11th St
Museum, Education, Historical Place

OTG Group Corp

77 Water St
Telecommunication Company, Education

Pratt History of Art & Design Student Association - HADSA

200 Willoughby Ave
School, Public & Government Service

Pratt Architecture Archives

61 St James Pl
College & University, School, College & University

American Academy of Personal Training

42 Wooster Street
Personal Trainer, Education, College & University

Corporate Transportation Group - Edward Slinin

335 Bond St
Limo Service, Business Service, School

Park51

51 Park Pl
Nonprofit Organization, Mosque, Education

A CALL TO MEN


Nonprofit Organization, Education


Privacy Policy